Crazy Wolf Entertainment

Home Search Talent Request Form About Us References Industry News Contact Us
Industry News

Something for Kate

To book artists and talent such as Something for Kate for your corporate event, private party, fundraiser, or club, just use our Talent Request Form or Contact us.
Something for Kate formed in Melbourne, Australia in 1994.The founding members of the three-piece band were vocalist and guitarist Paul Dempsey, bass player, Julian Carroll and drummer Clint Hyndman.

After recording a 7 track demo in 1995,the band signed to Murmur Records, a subsidiary of Sony. Then in 1996, they released the 7 track E.P., "The Answer to Both Your Questions" recorded and mixed by Mr. Greg Atkinson of Sydney band, Big Heavy Stuff.

In November of 1996,the 3 track single, "Dean Martin" was released. Early in 1997,the band then released a 5 track E.P. titled "Intermission" as they recorded their first album, "Elsewhere for Eight Minutes" in New Zealand and mixed and mastered it in New York with U.S. producer Brian Paulson.(Brian had previously produced albums for amongst others, Wilco, Archers of Loaf, Superchunk and Slint) Something for Kate's first full length album was released in July of 1997. Bass player, Julian Carroll was then replaced by Toby Ralph who toured with the band for the release of this album.

Four singles were released from "Elsewhere for Eight Minutes". They were: "Captain(Million miles an hour)","Prick", "Working Against Me" and "Roll Credit". Bass player, Toby Ralph was then replaced by Stephanie Ashworth in March 1998. The band then wrote their second album, "Beautiful Sharks" which was released in April of 1999. "Beautiful Sharks" was recorded in Melbourne, once again by producer, Brian Paulson.

Four singles were released from "Beautiful Sharks". They were: "Electricity", "Hallways", "Whatever You Want" and "The Astronaut" When the band went on the road with this album they took on an extra touring musician, Wally Gunn to play the incidental guitar and keyboard parts.

In 2000 as the band were writing for their third album, Murmur released "Q & A With Dean Martin", a re-release of the bands first E.P. and single as they had since sold out of their pressings and were increasingly difficult to come by. Also released in 2000 was "Big Screen Television", a video collection of 12 of the bands music videos along with some bonus footage.

Then in June of 2001, Something for Kate released their third album, "Echolalia". Produced by the band and Trina Shoemaker whose other recording credits include Queens of the Stone Age, REM, Whiskeytown, Sheryl Crow, "Echolalia" was recorded at INXS bass-player, Gary Garry Beers' Mangrove studio in the Central Coast of NSW.

Four singles were released from "Echolalia". They were; "Monsters", "Three Dimensions", "Twenty Years" and "Say Something". When touring this album, the band then took on two touring musicians, Pip Branson and Simon Bourke, again, to play the increasing amount of keyboards and extra guitar parts featured on the album.

In 2002, the band released their first DVD, entitled "A Diversion" which is a document of the writing, recording and touring of the "Echolalia" album.

In 2003 the band recorded their fourth album, "The Official Fiction". Produced once again by the band and Trina Shoemaker at Mangrove studios, "The Official Fiction" is the bands current album (released in Australia in August 2003), and has so far spawned the singles, "Deja vu", "Song for A Sleepwalker", "Best Weapon" and "Moving Right Along". The album will be released in Europe and the USA in mid-2004.

After supporting David Bowie on the Australian leg of his 'Reality Tour', the band toured Europe in 2004 taking in Germany, France, Denmark, Scotland, Ireland and the UK before returned to Australia to release their first Double album, "Phantom Limbs- Selected B-Sides". This release is a collection of the band members and their fans favourite b-side tracks from over the years.

In 2005, Something for Kate are currently working on their fifth album.

« Back to List